Internet Of Things | IoT

#

Watch Live – IETF 100 Plenary Panel on the Future of the Internet

  • Posted by admin on November 15, 2017

What is this future of the Internet? What will the Internet look like in 30 years? On Wednesday, November 15, three prominent strategists will gaze into the future and share their unique perspectives.  This panel on “The Internet, a look forward: Social, political, and technical perspectives” is part of the IETF 100 plenary session streaming live out of Singapore. The plenary session will also include the presentation of the Jonathan B. Postel Service award.

You can watch live at:    https://www.ietf.org/live

The entire IETF 100 plenary session is from 17:10 – 19:40 Singapore time. This is UTC+8, which translates into:

  • 10:10 – 12:40 Central European Time
  • 9:10 – 11:40 UTC
  • 4:10 – 6:40 US Eastern time

IMPORTANT NOTE – The panel and the Postel Award presentation are just two sections of the IETF 100 plenary session – and happen somewhere in the middle of the session. The full agenda can be found at:  https://datatracker.ietf.org/meeting/100/materials/agenda-100-ietf-sessa/

The live video stream will be recorded if you want to watch later.

Moderated by Brian Trammell, member of the Internet Architecture Board, panelists include:

  • Monique Morrow, President and Co-Founder of the Humanized Internet, a non-profit organization focused on providing digital identity for those individuals most under-served
  • Jun Murai, Founder of WIDE Project and Professor at  Keio University with a research focus in global computer networking and communication, and known as the “Father of Japan’s Internet” or “Internet Samurai”
  • Henning Schulzrinne, Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and chair of the Department of Computer Science at Columbia University, New York

Join in to hear the panel’s perspectives and the discussion.

When you are done, you may wish to explore our Internet Society 2017 Global Internet Report: Paths to our Digital Future, where we provide an analysis and perspective on different paths we see for the future of the Internet.

This discussion about the future of the Internet – happening at IETF 100, happening online, and happening in many other venues – is critical. There are many paths the Internet could take – but only some of them will benefit all of humanity.

It is up to each one of us to help shape the Internet of tomorrow.


Image credit: Michal Lomza on Unsplash

The post Watch Live – IETF 100 Plenary Panel on the Future of the Internet appeared first on Internet Society.

Internet Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *